‘Procedures of Limited Clinical Value’ (or PolCV) traditionally referred to treatments that do not have sufficient data to prove their cost effectiveness or clinical benefit. It was originally applied to treatments such as alternative and complementary therapies and cosmetic procedures. Procedures included on these lists were generally not funded by NHS commissioners.[1]

However, commissioners are increasing using PoLCV as a way to control spending by limiting access to treatments and technologies that are proven to be effective. Ration Watch conducted analysis of all 195 CCGs to look at the types of procedures they include on PoLCV lists.

Ration Watch found a number of proven treatments included on PoLCV lists. Four of the treatments listed most frequently were – hernia repair, cataract removal, Constant Glucose Monitoring and hip and knee replacements. Most commonly with these procedures, CCGs are using access thresholds to limit patient access.

 HerniaCataract Continuous Glucose Monitoring Hip and knee replacement
Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCGXX
Ashford CCGXX
Barking and Daganham CCGXX
Barnet CCG
Barnsley CCGXXX
Basildon and Brentwood CCGXX
Bassetlaw CCGX
Bath and North East Somerset CCG
Bedfordshire CCGXXXX
Bexley CCG
Birmingham and Solihull CCGXXX
Blackburn with Darwen CCGX
Blackpool CCG
Bolton CCGX
Bradford City CCG
Bradford Districts CCG
Brighton and Hove CCGXX
Bromley CCG
Buckinghamshire CCGXX
Calderdale CCG
Cambridgeshire and Peterborough CCGXXX
Camden CCG
Cannock Chase CCGXX
Canterbury and Coastal CCGXXX
Castle Point and Rochford CCGXXX
Central London (Westminster) CCGXX
Chorley and South Ribble CCG
City and Hackney CCGX
Coastal West Sussex CCGXX
Corby CCGX
Coventry and Rugby CCGXX
Crawley CCGXX
Croydon CCG
Darlington CCGX
Dartford, Gravesham and Swanley CCGXXX
Doncaster CCGXXX
Dorset CCG
Dudley CCGXX
Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCGX
Ealing CCGXX
East and North Hertfordshire
East Berkshire CCGX
East Lancashire CCG
East Leicestershire and Rutland CCGX
East Riding of Yorkshire CCG
East Staffordshire CCGXX
East Surrey CCGXX
Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford CCGXX
Eastern Cheshire CCGXX
Enfield CCG
Erewash CCGXXX
Fareham and Gosport CCGXX
Fylde and Wyre CCG
Gloucestershire CCG
Great Yarmouth and Waveney CCGXX
Greater Huddersfield CCG
Greater Preston CCG
Greenwich CCG
Guildford and Waverley CCGXX
Halton CCGXX
Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCGX
Hammersmith and Fulham CCGXX
Hardwick CCGXXX
Haringey CCG
Harrogate and Rural District CCGX
Harrow CCGXX
Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees CCGX
Hastings and Rother CCGXX
Havering CCGXX
Herefordshire CCGXX
Herts Valleys CCGXXX
Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale CCGXX
High Weald Lewes Havens CCGXX
Hillingdon CCGXX
Horsham and Mid Sussex CCGXX
Hounslow CCGXX
Hull CCG X
Ipswich and East Suffolk CCGXXX
Isle of Wight CCGXX
Islington CCG
Kernow CCGXX
Kingston CCGX
Knowsley CCGX
Lambeth CCG
Leeds CCG
Leicester City CCGX
Lewisham CCGXX
Lincolnshire East CCGXXX
Lincolnshire West CCGXXX
Liverpool CCGXX
Luton CCGX
Manchester CCGX
Mansfield and Ashfield CCGX
Merton CCGX
Mid Essex CCGXX
Milton Keynes CCG
Morecambe Bay CCG
Newark and Sherwood CCGX
Newcastle Gateshead CCGX
Newham CCGX
NHS Berkshire West CCGXXX
NHS Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire CCGXXX
NHS South East Staffordshire and Seisdon PeninsulaXX
North CumbriaXX
North Derbyshire
North Durham CCGX
North East Essex CCGXX
North East Hampshire And Farnham CCGXX
North East Lincolnshire CCG
North Hampshire CCGXX
North Kirklees CCG
North Lincolnshire CCG
North Norfolk CCGXXX
North Staffordshire CCGX
North Tyneside CCG
North West Surrey CCGX
North, East, West Devon CCG
Northumberland CCGX
Norwich CCGXXX
Nottingham City CCGXX
Nottingham North And East CCGXX
Nottingham West CCGXX
Oldham CCGXX
Oxfordshire CCGX
Portsmouth CCGXX
Redbridge CCGXX
Redditch and Bromsgrove CCGXX
Richmond CCG
Rotherham CCGXX
Rushcliffe CCGXX
Salford CCG
Sandwell and West BirminghamXX
Scarborough And Ryedale CCG
Sheffield CCGXX
Shropshire CCGXXX
Somerset CCGXXX
South Cheshire CCGXXX
South Devon And Torbay CCG
South Eastern Hampshire CCG
South Kent Coast CCGXXX
South Lincolnshire CCGXXX
South Norfolk CCGXXX
South Sefton CCGXX
South Tees CCG
South Tyneside CCG
South Warwickshire CCGXX
South West Lincolnshire CCGXXX
South Worcestershire CCGXX
Southampton City CCGXX
Southend CCGXXX
Southern Derbyshire CCGX
Southport and Formby CCGXX
Southwark CCG
St Helens CCGXX
Stafford and Surrounds CCGXX
Stockport CCGX
Stoke on Trent CCGXX
Sunderland CCG
Surrey Downs CCGXXX
Surrey Heath CCGX
Sutton CCGX
Swindon CCG
Tameside and Glossop CCGX
Telford And Wrekin CCGXXX
Thurrock CCGX
Tower Hamlets CCGX
Trafford CCGX
Vale Of York CCG
Vale Royal CCGX
Wakefield CCGXXX
Walsall CCGXX
Waltham Forest CCGX
Wandsworth CCGXX
Warrington CCGXX
Warwickshire North CCG
West Berkshire CCGXX
West Cheshire CCGXX
West Essex CCGXX
West Hampshire CCGXX
West Kent CCGXXX
West Leicestershire CCGX
West London CCGXX
West Norfolk CCGXXX
West Suffolk CCGXXX
Wigan Borough CCGX
Wiltshire CCGXX
Wirral CCGXX
Wolverhampton CCGXX
Wyre Forest CCGXX